Washington DC & PEYA Award

     I recently returned from Washington DC where I was honored with the President’s Environmental Youth Award (PEYA).  I want to encourage anyone who has created an environmental project to look at the requirements for this award, the experience was amazing.  This was my first trip to our capitol city, and it blew my mind. I have never felt so much awe before in my life.  From the magnificent architecture to our country’s inspiring history, I think I fell in love.  Not only was meeting the President of the United States an unbelievable honor, but it was so surreal; it was hard to imagine that it all was really happening to me.  
     While enjoying the four days in DC I also got to visit many other amazing places.  I went to the Spy Museum, the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum, a night tour of all of the monuments, and last but definitely not least the Library of Congress.  I had fun getting lost with my mom and my new friends and I don’t think I ever would want to be lost in any other way.
      The PEYA award was very important to me because I was allowed the honor of meeting extraordinary and talented teenagers. They were just as nerdy as me and just as passionate about the environment and of life.  I believe that everyone who received the award, including myself, will have bright futures that will consist of making the world a better place for today’s generation as well as the generations to come.  

Green Tip of the Month.  Now that school is out, walk and ride your bike.  Not only will you get great exercise but you will save fuel, too.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lori Minner on June 1, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Congratulations Sarah! What an awesome trip you have been on through this whole year and to end some of the celebrations in DC!! I am so very proud of you. Keep up the wonderful work you always do. Thanks for always thinking of others here on this earth!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Ellen on June 3, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Sarah, this sounds like it was a fantastic experience and honor for your hard work and dedication. I am glad to hear that there were so many others honored too. That means that the world will be in some good hands in the future. Now can you help with the oil spill?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mom on June 4, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Sarah,
    Love this BLOG. We had such a great time in DC. Thank you for letting me be a part of this wonderful experience.
    Love you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

